Partners

City Garage

Venue

City Garage @ Bergamot Station Arts Center
2525 Michigan Avenue, Pico, Santa Monica

  • Screenshot 2024 01 22 at 2 10 42 PM

One of Nobel prize-winner Harold Pinter’s most critically acclaimed works, Betrayal tells the story of a long-running affair and the punishing effect of the lies and complex jealousies of the three people involved: Emma, Jerry, and Emma’s husband, Robert. Emma and Jerry, attracted to each other since the night of her wedding to Robert, begin an affair. It goes on for seven years. Emma reveals that she confessed the truth to Robert. Jerry, confused, goes to Robert to explain himself. To his surprise, Robert tells him that he has known about the affair for years, a fascinating game of sexual manipulation between the three of them. Told in reverse chronology, Pinter underlines both the emotional complexity and the painful price of desire, of truth and lies, and what we conceal from each other and from ourselves.

“There are no hard distinctions between what is real and what is unreal, nor between what is true and what is false. A thing is not necessarily either true or false; it can be both true and false."

Upcoming Dates

  • Fri, Feb 23, 2024 8:00pm
  • Sat, Feb 24, 2024 8:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 25, 2024 4:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 1, 2024 8:00pm
  • Sat, Mar 2, 2024 8:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 3, 2024 4:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 8, 2024 8:00pm
  • Sat, Mar 9, 2024 8:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 10, 2024 4:00pm
  • Fri, Mar 15, 2024 8:00pm
  • Sat, Mar 16, 2024 8:00pm
  • Sun, Mar 17, 2024 4:00pm
Login
Sign Up

Login

Create an account | Reset your password